Top Ten Tuesday: 39 Months of Favorites

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week we will post a new Top Ten list that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join.

This week’s TTT is your favorite books read during the lifespan of your blog, which is almost too easy – ten favorite books that I’ve read in the last three-ish years?  Let’s make this a little more challenging and go by year:

Ruby Bastille started in March of 2009:

1) “The Castle of Crossed Destinies” by Italo Calvino was loaned to me by an erudite Irishwoman while I was an intern there.  It is the second-weirdest book I’ve ever read (after “Perdido Street Station” – no wait, third-weirdest, after that and the awful hallucinogenic mess that is “Mumbo Jumbo”) but it was also really really good.

2) “Unaccustomed Earth” by Jhumpa Lahiri.  This anthology only has a couple stories and a novella, but they’re almost all heartbreaking and lovely.

2010 was the year I forgot I had Goodreads to track my reading, but these stand out in my memory:

3) “The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo” by Steig Larsson is hard to forget, and fun to read in the parts that don’t make you want to curl up in a corner with a teddy bear.

4) “My Name Is Mary Sutter” by Robin Oliveira had a strong, talented heroine and a thoroughly-researched Civil War setting.

2011:

5) “The Age of Innocence” by Edith Wharton.  I read this after Wharton’s books caught my eye during a temp stint at a Portland college.

6) “Never Let Me Go” by Kazuo Ishiguro is the tiniest bit repetitive, but so gorgeous and heart-wrenching I hardly minded.

7) “The World At Night” by Alan Furst.  I’ve read lots of Furst, but I love this one, with its shadowy Paris and its ordinary civilians overwhelmed by the Nazi occupation.

2012:

8) “Delirium” by Lauren Oliver may not really be an excellent book, but after reading “Hunger Games” and “Matched,” it is positively brilliant.  Everyone who likes dystopian YA should read this.

9) “Ender’s Game” by Orson Scott Card.  Everyone who likes sci-fi and getting deep into your character’s consciousness should read this.  I remember one of my college friends disliking this book, and now I want to go shake him by the shoulders and demand WHY.

10) “Habibi” by Graig Thompson is not so great as a lesson on Arab and Muslim cultures, but as a fable and a detailed work of mythology-inspired art, it’s splendid.

Leave a Reply

