Top Ten Tuesday: Confessions

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week we will post a new Top Ten list that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join.

This week we’re sharing our top ten bookish confessions.

1) I hated “A Wrinkle In Time” and couldn’t finish reading it.  This resulted in me never reading anything by Madelein L’Engle.

2) I also hated and couldn’t finish “Midnight’s Children” and as a result have not tried to read anything else by Salman Rushdie, despite him being one of the greatest writers of our age omg.

3) The book I’m most afraid of being judged for for hating is “Sarah’s Key” by Tatiana de Rosnay.  Part of this book – the part about little Jewish girl Sarah who locks her brother in a secret cupboard to hide him from Nazi soldiers, expecting to return to free him soon – is heartbreakingly good.  The rest – a modern-day parallel story about an American journalist investigating Sarah’s story and struggling with her marriage to a Frenchman – is a big boring pile of cliche, preachy, poorly-characterized crap.  Guys, did you know the Nazis were bad?!  And that Frenchmen are unfaithful womanizers??  Ugh.  And yet everyone I’ve talked to adores it.

4) It took me until just this past year to read “Ender’s Game,” and I’ve yet to read anything by Asimov, Clarke, or Philip K. Dick.  Sorry, Bradbury is just my golden-age sci-fi homeboy.

5) I came close to physically destroying “Mumbo Jumbo” by Ishmael Reed because I hated it and the class I had to read it for so much.  Ultimately I decided getting a few bucks back from the college bookstore would be a better revenge.

6) I have an extremely hard time getting rid of books.  This isn’t really a confession, and it’s definitely not unique, but even books I didn’t really enjoy don’t leave my shelves.  I’m convinced that someday I’ll give them a second chance and that I’ll regret it if I get rid of my copy because mine is obviously the only copy in existence and if I get rid of it I’ll never find one again.

7) It took me until well into college to accept the idea of writing in the margins of books.  I only did it in used books that previous students had already marked up, and today, if I see a line I like, I either write it down somewhere else or underline it with very fine pencil.

What about you?  What are your secret bookish sins?

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Confessions

  1. OH MY GOD SARAH’S KEY! Girl I feel you on this one. I thought the beginning was great, but then the modern day part SO BORING. And I was so annoyed with the writing style how every other sentence was all ‘the sky was blue. colorful. filled with clouds.’ Or at least that is how I remember it.

    And word. It is HARD getting rid of books, even the mediocre, bad ones.

    My TTT

    • Augh, thank you!! Every time I see “Sarah’s Key” on someone’s TBR list, I always want to dive in and stop them…and then I see that five of their friends are going “omg it was sooo good!” >_O I’m just glad I’m not the only one!

  2. If you’re willing to change #1, can I recommend “A Ring of Endless Light”? Just given what I’ve read here, I think you might like it.

    Until this year, the only Ray Bradbury I’d ever read was “Fahrenheit 451.” I read “The Martian Chronicles.” When I went to buy “The Martian Chronicles,” I had Edgar Rice Burroughs stuck in my head as the author, so I bought “Princess of Mars” instead. Now I’ve read them both, and I’m glad.

    I identify as a feminist and still love Robert Heinlein. I’ve made excuses to myself about his misogyny.

    I can’t finish “Anna Karenina.” I get lost. Well, bored, then lost.

    I’ve read the Hunger Games way too many times. I’ve also read the first Harry Potter book a million times (because when new books come out, you have to start the series at the beginning again, right?).

    I will read almost anything if it’s got a good story and I have time.

    • I would definitely give L’Engel another shot – it just overwhelmed my young brain! “Ring of Endless Light” would definitely be my first choice.

      Definitely with you on re-reading Harry Potter, except I usually picked up with “Prisoner of Azkaban” since it was my favorite. I actually didn’t like “Chamber of Secrets” much, so I think I’ve only read it twice, compared to three or four times each for the others.

  3. When reading classic literature, I have fallen asleep more often than not.

    I got bored with Ender’s Game inside of two chapters.

    I’ve come to love critical theory, and so I’m thinking about giving Mumbo Jumbo another shot.

    But perhaps the most heinous of all my crimes is reading Twilight books 2-4 multiple times, and finding parts of them enjoyable.

    At last my soul is free of its burden; I am ready to be sacrificed to the gods of good writing.

Leave a Reply

