Top Ten Tuesday: Fall TBR

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week we will post a new Top Ten list that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join.

Who are we kidding?  This is pretty much the same TBR list from spring, and it’s been more or less the same on my Goodreads page for this entire year.

Still, here are some books I intend to read very soon:

1) Brave New World” by Aldous Huxley.  This one is physically on my nightstand, waiting to fulfill the banned book requirement on my 2012 reading list.  I only have a couple months left!

2) The Millennium Trilogy by Stieg Larsson. I finally got “Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest” in paperback, resolved to finally read “Girl Who Played With Fire,” realized I had pretty much forgotten the details of “Girl With The Dragon Tattoo,” gave up and read some other books instead.  Will I have time for a full trilogy?  No.  Am I going to put it on my list anyway?  Yes.

3) “Notes from a Small Island” by Bill Bryson.  This one actually made it home with me from the library, but I had overlapping holds and not enough time to read both books.  It went back to the library unread, which in terms of grief is up there with being out of ice cream and discovering a scratch on my favorite DVD.

4) “Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand” by Helen Simonson.  I’ve been stalling on this one because I’m 99% sure I’ll like it, and I don’t feel a lot of pressure to read something I think I’ll enjoy.

5) “Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil” by John Berendt.  I’ve heard great things about Berendt and this book, I’ve just never gotten around to reading it.  I borrowed it from my dad, oh…four years ago?  So I should get on that.

6) “The Second Duchess” by Elizabeth Loupas.  I’m wary of all new historical fiction because nothing will ever be as juicy as “The Other Boleyn Girl,” but in terms of history, not much is jucier than the Medicis.

7) “Blue Like Jazz” by Donald Miller.  I rarely read nonfiction or books about Christianity, but my friends rave about Donald Miller, so it’s time to finally read this one.

Uh, let’s call it good there, because we all know I’m going to get through two books on this list and then get distracted and read something completely different – like one of the twenty graphic novels I bought from a friend recently…hello there, Batman, how are you today?

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Fall TBR

  1. My fall list is also pretty similar to my spring and summer TBR lists! (Too many books and not enough hours in the day!) Still, what makes it a bit easier is that there are some seriously good books on your list–Brave New World and Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil are two of my favorites!

    Thanks for sharing your TTT list! 🙂 Happy reading!

  2. You must read the first three on your list! I almost named my newborn son Huxley for love of #1. I’ll be in Stockholm next month and I’m going to try and take the Lisbeth tour – I really enjoyed the Millenium trilogy!

    • Yes ma’am! “Brave New World” will be a re-read, but it’s been a long time since I read it. And I am looking forward to curling up with tea and a quilt (and probably a teddy bear for emotional support) to tackle the Millenium trilogy once the weather gets crummy again. A Lisbeth tour would be neat!

  3. Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil is such an old favorite! But skip the follow-up set in Venice. He was trying to make stuff happen there and it just wasn’t happening!

  4. I had the same problem with the Millennium series! I totally forget what happened. I also need to read Notes From A Small Island. LOVE Bryson. I have a feeling my travelogue count will be up for my Winter TBR list since I get the travel bug even more when I’m cooped up..will probably make it a priority then! ALSO..I really really liked Blue Like Jazz! Interested to see what you think!

    Here’s my list: http://www.perpetualpageturner.com/2012/09/fall-2012-must-read-books-list-young-adult.html

    • We read snippets of “Notes” for a college class, but I never got around to reading (or even buying) the entire thing. (It was optional, books were expensive, blah blah blah, regret, library!) What other travelogues would you recommend? Or is that an upcoming TTT? 😉

  5. Brave New World might be the book that has been on my TBR for the longest. One day I will get to it, but it isn’t on any of my challenge lists this year, so it might be a while longer.

    • I remember being really weirded out by “Brave New World” when I read it in high school, but I am anxious to give it another try! Are you on Goodreads? You can see my report on “Second Duchess” if I ever get to it!

Leave a Reply

