Outfit Post: Romantic Nautical

Boat neck…what an unflattering name.  I vote we all go with the more hoity-toity name, bateau neck, even though that is literally just French for “boat.”  French makes everything better.

Top: thrifted
Jeans: Macy’s
Boots: Nordstrom
Necklace, earrings & bracelet: gifts

I had been wanting a navy striped boat neck top for ages and out of the blue, the perfect one appears at a Plato’s Closet!  It’s got a slightly loose fit that I find super chic, and dang my collarbones look good in a boat neck.  Despite having to wear a strapless bra, and despite the shlubby name, this top makes me feel fantastic.  I definitely got my tres snob model face on for a lot of my photos – Tyra would be proud.

Speaking of chic, it’s alarmingly easy for this shirt to become part of a cliche French costume.  Originally I wore it with red jewelry, and I was one beret and a cigarette short of Paris!

Solution: the pearl pendant my friend gave me for an accessory swap a few years ago, simple small gold hoops, and a gold bead bracelet.

It’s a teeny bit preppy-nautical for my tastes, but I think the slightly vintage feel of the jewelry and the classic boots give the look a more romantic tone – maybe like something Hipster Ariel would wear if she became human for a cute hedge-funder she saw on a yacht off Nantucket.

What do you do to salvage an outfit that’s about to capsize on the shores of a style you don’t fancy?

Leave a Reply

