Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Should Have Read By Now

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week we will post a new Top Ten list that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join.

Happy election day!  Or, more accurately, happy the-campaigning-is-finally-over day.  Also, happy Halo 4 day.  I’ll be honest, between that and Assassin’s Creed 3 coming out, not much book-reading is going to be happening.  Halo 4, guys!  I’ve been sitting on an Amazon gift card specifically for this game.  In honor of me not reading, I’m using this themeless week to list the books that I really should have read by now.

1. Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy.  I’m beginning to realize that I’m pretty much the only person I know who hasn’t read a Russian novel yet.  “Anna Karenina” has been recommended as a good starting point.

2. Anything by Charles Dickens.  I’ve never read anything besides “A Christmas Carol.”  Seriously.  And I’m pretty sure the “Wishbone” episode based on “Tale of Two Cities” doesn’t count.

3. Anne of Green Gables by LM Montgomery. Somehow this just never came up on my childhood reading radar.  Maybe I was too busy with “Little House on the Prairie” and all its spinoffs…

4. Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf.  This seems like a tremendously important book which I’ve never had the opportunity to read.  I’m not sure I’d enjoy it, but it’s definitely worth a shot.

5. The Bible.  Despite having grown up “churched,” I’ve never been able to get through the entire Bible.  I try every few months to read it, but I always run out of steam three or four books in, even if I start with the more interesting (and relevant) New Testament.  Now I have a more engaging translation that’s set up kinda like a screenplay, which makes the whole thing a lot more enjoyable and less like a chore.

6. North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell.  I love the adaptation (starring soon-t0-be-famous Richard Armitage) but have never gotten around to reading the book, which has been described as “Pride & Prejudice” with a social conscience.

7. The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde.  I’ve had the Thursday Next books recommended to me at least three times, but I’ve never attempted any of them.  I’m always afraid it’ll turn out to be too weird, and then all my friends who are fans will never speak to me again.

8. American Gods by Neil Gaiman.  I’ve made it through four “Sandman” books, “Fragile Things,” and “Good Omens,” so I’m pretty sure I can withstand most of the weirdness Neil has to offer.  Now I just need to get the darn thing from the library and prove it.

9. Dracula by Bram Stoker.  I got about a third of the way through this one summer and then quit reading for some reason.  Given its status as both a prime example of Victorian literature and the mother of all vampire books, it deserves to be read.

10. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte. And the thing is, I’m not sure I want to anymore.  It’s been made fun of so much (thank you, Kate Beaton and British sketch comedy) that I’m not sure I could take it seriously, even if I wanted to.  Kinda like “Twilight,” now that I think about it…

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/6185.Wuthering_Heights

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Should Have Read By Now

  1. Lady, get thee to a library and start reading Anne of Green Gables, stat! And then watch the Canadian t.v. movies from the ’80s. And once you’ve fallen in love with Jonathan Crombie/Gilbert Blythe, I’ll tell you the story about how I followed him for 9 blocks in Denver, and then ran past him yelling, “I love you, Gilbert!”

    Also, North and South is very good and I’m happy to lend you my thesis on the commodification of romance, which I’m sure you’re dying to read.

    • Mmm, commodification of romance. Sounds thrilling! 😉 That actually sounds like it would have been really interesting to study. How far back did your material reach? 1800s? Ancient Greece?

Leave a Reply

