Top Ten Tuesday: Thanks!

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week we will post a new Top Ten list that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join.

This week we’re giving thanks for some of the most meaningful books and authors in our lives!  Good thing we’re limited to ten, because almost every book I’ve read has contributed somehow to my worldview and values, or at the very least given me a few hours of entertainment.  Books give us a lot to be grateful for!

1-2. “The Illustrated Man” and Ray Bradbury, for showing me what was possible and inspiring me to follow suit.

3. Italo Calvino, for taking everything I’d learned about writing so far and exploding it.

4. Mercedes Lackey, for introducing me to both fantasy lit at large and homosexuality. (Hey, I had to find out somehow.)

5. JRR Tolkien, for confirming my nerd status and yet also providing a rare mutual reading interest for me and both my parents.

6. “Harry Potter,” for crossing so many age and gender lines and giving us all something to squee about.

7. It has to be said…Alan Moore, for writing “V for Vendetta” which inspired the movie that was our first date.  Also for writing “Watchmen,” which launched me into reading non-Marvel graphic novels.

8. “The Great Gatsby,” which showed me that almost every required-reading book or author deserves a second chance.  (Except for you, Faulkner.  We’re done.)

9. Philippa Gregory, for my historical-romance guilty pleasure books.

10. The Bible, for faith and encouragement.

What books or authors are you thankful for?

Leave a Reply

