Top Ten Tuesday: 2013 Reading

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week we will post a new Top Ten list that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join.

I’m going to pull last week’s topic and list the books I intend to read in 2013.  Because my 2012 list went so well (2 for 10, yikes!).

1-3. The Cemetery of Forgotten Books trilogy by Carlos Ruiz Zafon.  I read “Shadow of the Wind” in 2009 and stopped there because its sequel is about a different set of characters, and I don’t like change. When I found out the third book ties the last two together, I decided to give them a shot, and since I got the third book for Christmas, I have to a) acquire “Angel’s Game” and b) read all three!

4. “Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand” by Helen Simonson. This year for sure!

5. “Days of Blood & Starlight” by Laini Taylor.  There were some things I didn’t like about “Daughter of Smoke & Bone,” but there were a lot more things that I did like – hence, sequel, once I make it to the top of the hold list.

6. “Requiem” by Lauren Oliver. The love triangle finally reared its cliche head at the end of the last book, but since Lena is pretty kick-ass and the third book promises a return to her cured best friend Hana, I’m excited to keep reading.  Again, pending my place on the hold list.

7-10. The Lord of the Rings trilogy by JRR Tolkien. I re-read “The Hobbit” just before the movie came out, and it’s high time I re-read one of my favorite trilogies of all time.

This week’s actual question is about bookish goals, so here are mine:

1. Read more in my free time.  When we moved, we didn’t have internet or cable for the first few weeks, and while we spent most of that time away for the holidays and unpacking, it also forced us to do something different with our free time.  This year, I want to choose to read more, rather than just watch something on Netflix.

2. Stick to my lists.  After I finish a book, I tend to waffle around and linger indecisively in front of my bookshelf.  Having a loose list at least gives me some guidance while still allowing me a little choice.  Now I just need the will-power to stick to said list and not get distracted!

3. Read 25 books.  I did 30 last year, but I think I only beat my goal by reviewing books I’d read a long time ago.  Meeting this goal will be contingent on also meeting #1, and maybe taking a few lazy lie-around-and-read-on-a-beach vacations.  Oh, and have a reading-in-a-fort party with my friends. And maybe doing the Readathon in April!

4. Go international.  I made a goal to read a book from every continent last year, and it didn’t go very well.  Many of the Asian and South American writers I’m familiar with live and publish in Western countries, which I think defeats the purpose a little bit.  I’m going to try to find more translations and branch out, especially when it comes to African lit, of which I’ve read approximately three books.

What are you planning to read this year?

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 2013 Reading

  1. Reading more international literature is a great goal (and one that I want to achieve as well, though I wrote it as “reading more books by authors of color”). I too tend to waffle about what to read next, despite the many lists I have hanging over my head–so if you create a good way to stick to lists, please share it with the rest of us. 🙂

    Thanks for sharing your list! Mine can be found over at Bookwanderer!

    • Translated books is a good idea. I’ve only read a few, mostly Isabel Allende and Gabriel Garcia Marquez, but it’s been a good experience.

  2. I’d like to read more LGBT and feminist literature (fiction and non-) this year, and I know there are some good lists out there so I just have to go find them again. I also vow, on the honor of this sandwich I’m eating here, that I will finally read The Once and Future King this year, since my mom gave it to me a million billion years ago and I haven’t gotten further than a page in.

    • Ugh, I got about a third of the way through OaFK and…no. At some point he starts running around with Robin Hood and I just couldn’t take it any more. Best of luck to you! The honor of your sandwich depends on it.

Leave a Reply

