Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Memories

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week we will post a new Top Ten list that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join.

This week we’re reliving our favorite book-related memories!

1. Reading all of “Fahrenheit 451” in one day at Cannon Beach.  The Oregon Coast isn’t usually conducive to most beach-going activities.  It’s often windy and the water is freezing.  What the Oregon Coast is excellent for, though, is bundling up and reading lots and lots of books.  “Fahrenheit 451” was the first book I’d read all in one day.

2. Getting “Harry Potter & the Half-Blood Prince” at midnight.  I had the glasses, the lightning bolt on my forehead, and everything!

3. Getting “Harry Potter & the Deathly Hallows” on release day.  When the final Harry Potter book came out, Tess and I were visiting Jessica, and while we probably stayed up late, we didn’t go to a midnight release party.  Instead, we all went straight to a bookstore the next day, expecting to have to battle fangirls for the remaining scraps – but the store was deserted.  We each picked up a copy from the overflowing tables and spent the next two days not speaking to each other as we devoured the story.

4. Checking out huge stacks of books from the library for summer reading.  I haven’t gotten to do the gigantic-stack thing in a while, since my reading speed is slower and the books are longer, but in middle school and high school, I loved checking out six or seven books at a time.

5. Borrowing a gazillion books from my sister-in-law in 2011.  It turned out we have extremely similar reading interests, so she let me leave her house with about a dozen books, including “East of Eden” and “Daughter of Fortune,” which have since become some of my favorites.  I love exploring people’s bookshelves and seeing what we have in common and what I might like to try.

6. Reading “The Lord of the Rings” for the first time.  My parents had tried to get me to read these before, but I couldn’t get into them.  Needless to say, the movie of “Fellowship of the Ring” changed my outlook a wee bit, and I abducted my mom’s (?) 1960s editions and haven’t given them back since.

7. Finding “Little Century” in an indie bookstore in Hood River.  This was the first book written by one of my professors, and I’d been intending to buy it, but unexpectedly spotting it on display made me feel like I had to buy it there.  She’s a big proponent of indie bookstores and I like to think it made her happy that I bought it from them instead of Amazon.com.

8. Meeting Robin Oliveira twice.  Robin and her family lived in the same neighborhood as us growing up, and her son attended the same college I did.  When I was a junior, she met with me to talk about the writing process.  She was working on “My Name is Mary Sutter” and had plenty of tips for writing and researching.  A couple years later, when she was on tour for “Mary Sutter,” I drove from Salem to McMinnville in the dark and the fog to attend her reading at Linfield College.  We hadn’t seen each other in three years and she hadn’t known I was coming, so it was a nice reunion, especially in the wake of her recent success.

9. Buying, reading, and not liking “The Virgin’s Lover.” It’s not a good memory, but it taught a good lesson, and made me much more wary about purchasing books I’d never read.

10. Getting “The Serialist” from Jessica.  I had just not-gotten into grad school for the second time in a row, and I was feeling pretty terrible about life.  Jessica sent me a copy “The Serialist,” one of her favorite books, with a sweet inscription on the inside.  It only just occurred to me that a story about a serial killer is not exactly the kind of warm-fuzzy book one usually sends to a depressed friend, but hey, I enjoyed reading it!

10.5 Finishing a first draft of my own book.  Can I put this here? Because I’m really freaking proud of myself.  I’ve barely been able to finish short stories, but after about two years, my first-ever draft of my first-ever complete book is done!

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Memories

  1. Congrats on finishing a draft of your book! That is a HUGE accomplishment (and one that I still haven’t been able to reach, even after participating in Nanowrimo last year)! And checking out huge stacks of books from the library was so satisfying as a kid. I wish I still had the time to do that!

    • Thank you! I’ve never been able to do NaNoWriMo…I do great for about a week and then fizzle out. :-/ Maybe I can buckle down this year and finish the second (or hopefully third, by then) book!

    • Thanks! 🙂 I’m sure I’ve read fluffier stuff like “Hunger Games” in one day, but F451 is a little denser. Even the new Harry Potter books took me at least three days, mostly because I wanted to draw out the experience as much as possible!

Leave a Reply

