Top Ten Tuesday: Unstarted Series

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week we will post a new Top Ten list that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join.

This week, we’re talking about the series we’d like to read, but haven’t started yet.  I try to avoid series because I’m commitment-phobic and live in fear of being let down by the final book.  That means I don’t actively seek out series – but my interest has still be caught by a handful:

1) Divergent. I’m finally actually going to read this one!  “Divergent” is on hold!  I feel like it’s the last of the early 2010s YA dystopian trilogies that I definitely have to read.

2) A Song of Ice and Fire I don’t feel bad about waiting to start this one since apparently Martin takes a decade or two in between books.  Although, given how dense the books are rumored to be, maybe I ought to get started on the existing five…

3) Legend. Wait, no, this is the last of the early 2010s YA dystopian trilogies I needed to read.  And “Legend” is also on hold.  Check.

4) Thursday Next. I think these books have been recommended to me more than any others in my life.  I like stories that are lightly surreal and deal with the love of books and writing, so I think they’re worth a try.

5) The Empire Trilogy.  When the two people who asked me if I’d ever read Raymond E. Feist found out I hadn’t, they both reacted with drawn-out gasps and looks of pure horror.  I promise I’ll get there, guys.

And really, that about does it for series.  I’m currently reading “Mistborn,” but it remains to be seen if I’ll stick around for the whole series.  Like I said, when it comes to books, I don’t commit.  Sorry, books.

What about you?  Are you a series fan or do you stick with the one-offs?  What series have you been wanting to read but just haven’t gotten there yet?

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Unstarted Series

  1. 2) You’ll not regret it. I read the first book and then went abroad for a few months and couldn’t take the others with me (too heavy). Now I can’t wait to get home to read the 2nd. 🙂

  2. I’ve been toying with the idea of going back and reading Tamora Pierce’s Circle of Magic series since I’ve read just about everything else she’s written. Okay, so TECHNICALLY I did start it in like freshman year of high school, but I remember exactly nothing about it other than a character named Briar Moss (?). I actually like series a lot, especially if there are already a lot of books (because that’s my reading material sorted for the next two months), but the sort of rote trilogy thing that a lot of YA books have fallen into lately irks me–not everything NEEDS to be a trilogy, which leads to a lot of Second Book Syndrome. Bleck.

    • Somehow I’ve never read any Tamora Pierce. I’m not sure how it happened, but I think I need to remedy it.

      It does seem like everything needs to be a trilogy these days (*cough* Hobbit). I can’t complain about it too much because I’m uh writing one, but it can be a little tiresome, especially the dystopias. I just started “Divergent” and it’s the third YA book I’ve read that opened with the main character taking some kind of government-mandated test. Nooo.

Leave a Reply

