Outfit Post: Bridesmaid’s…Tunic?

When my friend Jessica got hitched, she hooked us all up with springy, casual dresses that could be re-worn more easily than your standard bridesmaid dress.

It would be even easier if we lived in a place that allowed for springy, casual dress-wearing on a regular basis, but since we don’t, this baby has found a second life as a tunic.

bridesmaidtunic1Tunic: Modcloth
Leggings: Maurices
Boots: Nordstrom Rack
Bracelet: made it
Necklace & earrings: gifts

Kevin took the pictures for me, which apparently makes me extra smiley.

I’m glad this experiment in remixing went well, but for some reason, I can’t bring myself to wear this particular outfit to work.  I feel like the high waist of the dress, plus the lace, plus the ultra-girly color is somehow going to be a detriment to me in the workplace. I dunno, I get paranoid about that kind of thing.  I wrangle with feeling young and inexperienced and unimportant, and wearing a girlish outfit like this seems like it would exacerbate those feelings.  My workplace is pretty darn casual, as evidenced by the fact that I can wear leggings at all, but that means whenever I wear something more complicated than jeans and a shirt, I worry about the message it’s sending.

When did it get so complicated?  And why can’t I just treat my clothes as clothes, and not social communicators?

2 thoughts on “Outfit Post: Bridesmaid’s…Tunic?

  1. Pingback: Gaming: The 21st-Century Glass Ceiling | Ruby Bastille

  2. Pingback: The Hot Pink T-shirt Saga | Ruby Bastille

Leave a Reply

