Top Ten Tuesday: Spring TBR

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week we will post a new Top Ten list that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join.

This week, we’re taking note of the top ten books on our spring TBR lists!

I’ve been so bad about my reading this year.  I tried to read four books at once last month, and I didn’t even like two of them very much.  That resulted in me quitting on one entirely (“1Q84,” my thoughts here) and skimming the remainder of another (“Notes from a Small Island,” which I had hoped to enjoy a lot more).

End result: I’ve only read three books so far this year.  Which means I have a lot of reading to catch up on if I’m going to meet my goal of 30 books this year.

1. “North and South” by Elizabeth Gaskell.  I’ve been aching to read this ever since I saw the miniseries in 2009, but the libraries around here don’t seem to have a copy.  (If you’re at all into costume dramas, you should watch that miniseries, by the way. It has Thorin and Mr. Bates in it! And it has the best music!)  Then I discovered the joys of free e-books and snagged it there.  And it’s so satisfying to read because the font is always gigantic, so I breeze through it.

2. “The Second Duchess” by Elizabeth Loupas. Ugh, yes, I know, it’s been on my list for like a year now. It’s been sitting on my bedside table, waiting for a break in the onslaught of borrowed books so I can relax into the books I actually own.

3. “The Time in Between” by Maria Duenas.  This was in my Secret Santa box and I was seriously excited to see it – it’s a 600-page hardcover, not the kind of thing you’d expect to get shipped to you! (Whoever you were, again, thank you!)

And I’m just going to call it good there…this list is likely to be interrupted by library holds and my own forgetfulness.

What’s on your list for this spring?

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Spring TBR

    • I keep whittling these seasonal lists down to 8 or even 5, and still I couldn’t get through those! So I’m just doing 3, and if I can’t do that, well, I won’t have a cookie or something.

Leave a Reply

