Top Ten Tuesday: Most Recommended

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week we will post a new Top Ten list that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join.

This week, we’re sharing (or, most likely, re-sharing) the books that we tend to recommend the most.

1. “TGL&PPPS” by Mary Ann Shaffer.  That’s “The Guernsey Literary and Potato” okay you know what, everyone just needs to go read this already so I can stop writing out its tendonitis-inducing title.  It’s not great, but it’s fun.  You like fun, right?  Of course you do.

2. “Perdido Street Station” by China Mieville, mostly because I want someone else to suffer with me.  It’s a good kind of suffering.  Sort of.

3. “Little Century” by Anna Keesey.  My professor wrote this one, and it’s really really good, so I name-drop it whenever I can.

4. “My Name Is Mary Sutter” by Robin Oliveira.  And a family friend wrote this one, so I name drop this a lot, too.  It’s quite dark and gory sometimes, but still satisfying.

5. “Never Let Me Go” by Kazuo Ishiguro. I’m not sure if I’ve ever actually recommended this to anyone, but…I should.

6. “Delirium” by Lauren Oliver.  This is the one I always recommend to my other YA-reading friends.  Who else has read it?  It’s more vividly-imagined than “Matched” and “Divergent” and better-written than “Hunger Games” (and has a better action heroine once the sequel rolls around).

7. “Watchmen” by Alan Moore is one I often recommend to my friends who are wary of graphic novels.  The thing made Time’s list of the best 100 novels, for pete’s sake – and it was the only graphic novel to do so!

8. “Illustrated Man” by Ray Bradbury.  It’s one of my favorite books and I’ve frequently recommended it as a gateway to old-school science fiction.

9. “Daughter of Smoke & Bone” by Laini Taylor.  This has some problematic character issues that I’m not thrilled about, but the world is just so cool, and so is Karou!

10. “The Chinatown Death Cloud Peril” by Paul Malmont.  It’s pulpy fun and an homage to the joy of reading and writing.  Kind of like “The Serialist” only with fewer serial killers, more famous real-life authors, and lots more pulp.

Dare I even ask what books you recommend most?  It’s not like my wish list isn’t totally overloaded already with more books than I’ll ever have time to read…

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Most Recommended

    • I would say it’s safe to just buy Guernsey! If you’re into warm-fuzzy Jane Austen-ish romances, you will definitely love it.

Leave a Reply

