Top Ten Tuesday: I’d Have a Crush On Them

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week we will post a new Top Ten list that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join.

This week, we’re sighing over the characters we’d crush on if we were also fictional characters.  I guess this is different from actually having a crush on a character, but I overlapped that distinction a few times.  Some of these guys are worth it!

1. Kelsier from “Mistborn.” I spent about half of this book shipping Vin and Kelsier, because Kelsier was just awesome.  Vin obviously couldn’t trust that nobleman’s son, right, because the whole book so far has been about how all noblemen are untrustworthy…wait, what?  We are supposed to trust him?  And Vin sees Kelsier as a father figure?  Sigh.  Never mind.

2. Akiva from “Daughter of Smoke and Bone.” In real life, Akiva’s boundless self-loathing is really annoying.  In the fictional world, though, I can see how he’d be extremely appealing, what with the unearthly hotness and the wings made of fire.

3. Skif from the Valdemar books.  Awww, Skif.  Friend-zoned first by Talia, then by the princess. It’s okay, you still got a whole book to yourself, and we all know you’re a charming, loyal bloke who deserves a nice girl.  (I can’t remember if he ever actually gets one, though…)

4. Remus Lupin from “Harry Potter.” I have a crush on Professor Lupin anyway, so…yeah.  This crush faded after he kind of turned into a jerk in “Deathly Hallows,” but in “Prisoner of Azkaban?” What a cool dude.  (Honorable mention goes to Sirius, because apparently everyone had a crush on Sirius.)

5. Mr. Darcy from “Pride and Prejudice.”  Again, everyone has a crush on him.  For me, it’s mostly because of the witty banter, although the secretly-saving-your-sister thing was nice, too.

6. Four/Tobias from “Divergent.” Even though he was kind of horrible to her early on (“I treat you like crap because I know you can handle it!”), he and Tris wound up having pretty amazing chemistry.

7. Vincent Casson from “The World At Night” and “Red Gold.” He’s a suave, moody, rich (at least in the first book) Frenchman and he knows what the ladies like.  If I lived in WWII Paris, I’d definitely fall for him – in a detached, Parisian-ingenue sort of way.

8. St. John Rivers from “Jane Eyre.”  If I’d met St. John after dealing with Mr. Rochester, I’d have a crush on him, too.  Then I’d look back and realize how frigid and manipulative he was and be thankful I got out of there.

9. Alex from “Delirium.” The dude is appealing enough to make Lena question everything she knows about society – and he’s not a jerk to her.  He teases her, of course, because that’s what people in love do sometimes, but he’s never outright mean like so many YA love interests seem to be these days.

10. Day from “Legend.” In real life, he’s a bit too anime for my tastes – the dude is Asian, but has shoulder-length blonde hair – but man, is he appealing in the world of “Legend.”  He’s athletic, loyal, and dedicated to helping the poor survive under a ruthless regime.  And he get all the ladies.

So who would you have a crush on if you were in the book with them?

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: I’d Have a Crush On Them

  1. I was about to say…St John, really?!? Mr. Rochester made my list, though Darcy didn’t (I chose Wentworth instead for his divine letter). I didn’t choose a HP character, but if I did I would’ve chosen Sirius!

    • Oh yeah, the chapters when she’s trying to figure out her relationship with St John are almost painful to read! Rochester…I dunno, he’s just too Byronically self-pitying for me to really have a crush on him, even through Jane’s eyes.

      I’m not sure I’ve ever read or seen Persuasion…if I have, I’m completely blanking on it! Yikes!

  2. Oh, hmm, let’s see. Now I think the beginning of his relationship with Daine was kind of creepy (esp. because of the age difference), but as a younger person and as a character in that world, I would have had it so hard for Numair in Tamora Pierce’s Tortall books. I also probably would have had a crush on Cassel Sharpe from the Curse Workers books if I were attending Wallingford Prep–reading the books, you just feel bad for what a messed-up family/life he has, but if he were just a classmate? Yes, please.

    • Age differences ruin everything, don’t they? I recently saw a thing on Buzzfeed about the official ages of the Disney princesses…I’m not sure which was creepier, that Snow White was only 14 or that none of the princes have officially been given ages. Yeesh.

    • Oh good! Seriously, who wouldn’t have a crush on Kelsier?! He’s only, what, thirty-three? That’s totally reasonable…unless you’re the 17-year-old heroine, I guess…

Leave a Reply

