Top Ten Tuesday: Instabuy!

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week we will post a new Top Ten list that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join.

We’ll go ahead and call these insta-add-to-wish-list books since I don’t buy too many books without reading them first.

1) “Spinoffs” about minor characters in major works, or reinterpretations of major works.  See:

2) Multiple characters/narrators whose stories intersect. See:

3) Riffs on sci-fi themes. See:

4) Historical fiction centered around women making their way in a challenging world. See:

5) Books about books, writing, and reading. See:

6) Historical fiction about little-known or unexplored people, particularly women or marginalized people. See:

7) Tudor historical fiction. See:

8) Alternate/parallel universes or worlds hidden underneath our own. See:

9) Books that use objects or memories to tell a story-within-a-story.  See:

10) Basically anything science-fiction or fantasy with a witty, talented, no-nonsense, brave heroine. See:

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Instabuy!

  1. I’m glad to see books like Zone One and The Flight of Gemma Hardy on the list. I liked those too. I try and read most of the modern Jane Eyre updated, but none have captured that ineffable quality that makes Jane Eyre so amazing.

    I don’t know if you’ve read The Innocents yet, but that one really missed the mark for me (and I really didn’t like the hardcover cover).

    • I’ve actually only read a couple of these – the vast majority are from my very long TBR and wish-list collections on Goodreads. I’m especially curious about Jane Eyre updates since it has such crazy social issues that seem hard to update.

      You know what deserves a modern version, though? “North & South.” I’m over halfway through now and it’s amazing how many of the themes still ring true today, especially with the recession.

      I’ve heard “Innocents” is underwhelming, but I’m still a little curious about it.

  2. Oh, I like how specific you got here. I think I’d have to take a long hard look at my bookshelves to figure out my proclivities like this! I DO know that I like fantasy novels with cheeky animal companions -where the animal companion doesn’t die- (which is kind of a tough find, unfortunately), and I also like fantasy where the setting isn’t Northern-European inspired and has a predominantly POC cast (a la Book of a Thousand Days, The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, or The Girl of Fire and Thorns–although I had a few unrelated problems with the latter). Re: your 9th category, in a Korean-American Lit class in college one of the books we read was Dispatches from the Cold by Leonard Chang, where the narrator receives and opens letters not meant for him; it’s been a while but I remember it being pretty interesting.

    • I’m trying to remember of Mogget survives the Sabriel trilogy…I guess not being able to remember is a good sign that I need to read those again.

      “Dispatches from the Cold” sounds dark! Interesting concept, though, and I guess you have to be at a certain point in life if you’re reading letters that aren’t meant for you.

  3. I’m actually bookmarking this post right now, because.. wow. Amazing list! o_o Checking out Fatherland, too, right away. Not sure if it will be available here, since most books with content like that have become victims of cencorship (even though their message isn’t glorifying..) but if it is, I’ll make sure to buy and read it. (Here as in, Germany.)

    Patricia @ BookExhibitionism

  4. It’s not from your list, but I think it was a previous TBR list post that you mentioned Octavia Butler. I picked up Kindred last time I was at the book store and thought HOW HAVE I NEVER READ HER BEFORE??? (Felt the same way when someone gave me a Lois McMasters Bujold novel).

  5. Pingback: Top Ten Tusday: Will Not Read | Ruby Bastille

Leave a Reply

