Currently (May)

Current Book(s): “Midnight in the Garden of Good & Evil” by John Berendt and “North & South” by Elizabeth Gaskell.

Current Playlist: Alternating between Gungor/All Sons & Daughters, epic movie soundtracks, Janelle Monae/Adele/Amy Winehouse, and a playlist I’m called “Angry Blues” based on Gary Clark Jr.

Current Shame-Inducing Guilty Pleasure: We’ve started having breakfast with a big group of our friends, and the main dish is French toast with what the cook calls “maple fluff:” maple syrup beaten with powdered sugar and (I think) milk.  And it’s usually dyed pink, to go with the blue and green French toast.

I am not actually ashamed of this, although I probably should be.

Current Color: Black, somehow!  We’re finally getting some summer weather, but about 75% of my t-shirts are either plain black or plain white. Boring!

Current Drink: My boss got a box of Tea Forte teas and offered me one.  I sipped it reverently – it was the Estate Darjeeling and it tasted like savory herbs, fruit, and magic – and expected to never taste something so lovely again.

Then my boss left the box in the common room, and now I get to drink more Tea Forte.

Current Food: Summer goodies like pulled pork, BBQ anything, pasta salad, and ice cream sandwiches.  Also, now that I know how easy it is to make it myself, jambalaya.  No more Zatarain’s in this house – one chicken breast, a handful of shrimp, and one package of kielbasa plus veggies, rice, and a couple teaspoons of King of the Cajuns spices.  Awesome.

Current Favorite Show: I found “Kitchen Nightmares” on Netflix and I’m enjoying it way more than I should.  Yeah, Gordon Ramsay is an ass sometimes, but quite frequently, the subjects of his wrath deserve it.  Cockroaches in your fridge?  Moldy vegetables?  I’d be cussing, too!

We also um found “Transformers Prime” on Netflix and uhhh maybe this should have gone up in the guilty-pleasure section.

Current Wishlist: Colored t-shirts, apparently.  A second maxi skirt, preferably with a print that includes black.  A grill and grill baskets (especially this quesadilla grill basket, which I’m pretty sure is not necessary, but man, a fire-grilled quesadilla sounds amazing).  Basil, oregano, rosemary, strawberries, tomatoes, and maybe spinach to grow on our porch.  A big dramatic palm to go in a pot on our front step.  A pergola to go over our porch. More time to play Mass Effect 2 because holy cow how have I never played these games before?! (I skipped ME1 because I have a lot of games to get through if I’m going to have any cred at PAX.)  More time to read.  More time to spend with River and help her with her neuroses. A BBQ road trip.

Some of these things are more easily obtained than others.

Current Needs: to finalize plans for the women’s retreat next week. ACK.

Current Triumphs: planning women’s retreat and not exploding! Yet!

Current Bane(s) of my Existence: the inescapable Dog Smell that now permeates our bedroom. Noooo.

Current Celebrity Crush: David Tennant, always. Marcus Mumford. Robert Downey Jr.

Current Indulgence: Getting work done on the patio, or at the kitchen table with the door open.

Current #1 Blessing: sunshine!

Current Slang or Saying: “Derp” and “derpy” are getting a lot of use, thanks to River, who is derpy.

Current Outfit: Dressy capris, t-shirt, cardigan, and long necklace.

Current Excitement: Spending a lot of time with friends doing gloriously geeky things: playing tabletop games like Zombicide, going to Geek Trivia, and playing old Nintendo games. Also: Mumford & Sons at the end of the month!

Current Mood: Optimistic.

Leave a Reply

