Top Ten Tuesday: Summer TBR

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week we will post a new Top Ten list that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join.

This week, we’re looking forward to the books we plan to read this summer!  I’ll have two, hopefully three vacations during which I can read a lot.  And it turns out we have one of those awesome camp chairs with a hammock-thing for your feet, so I’m looking forward to a few afternoons reading in that.

1. “The Book of Fires” by Jane Borodale.  I bought it, oh, two years ago?  So I need to read it.

2. “Batman: Hush. Kevin’s read it already and I know I need to get to it soon.

3. “Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell” by Susanna Clarke.  This one is gigantic and seriously intimidating, but it will be good for a longer vacation.

4. “King Solomon’s Mines” by H. Rider Haggard.  I know I won’t be able to read this one with an open mind (thank you, Post-Colonial Literature), but maybe that’s okay.  It seems like summer is an appropriate time to read a rip-roaring adventure like this.  Is it actually rip-roaring or too dated to enjoy?  Let’s find out!

5. “Northanger Abbey” by Jane Austen.  This is the only Austen book I haven’t read yet.  I’d like to complete the set!

6. Nancy Drew My dad recently sent me a complete collection of Nancy Drew books that my grandmother had collected.  There’s a complete set of the most famous 1960s publications, but there are also four from the early 1990s run of the original 1930s stories – and, best of all, four original-original 1930s books.  I’m sure I read my share of Nancy Drew as a girl, but I’m kinda looking forward to flipping through them, especially the original editions.  I didn’t even know Nancy Drew started in the 30s, but I’m in love with her outfits and her cute little bob.

7. “Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand” by Helen Simonson.  I’ve been specifically saving this for my next beach trip/vacation!

8-9. “Jurassic Park” and “The Lost World” by Michael Crichton.  I haven’t read any Crichton in a long time, but summer is the perfect time for his books.  The Jurassic Park books come up surprisingly often at Geek Trivia, too, so it would help if I refreshed my memory.  (But really, would anyone have been able to remember “Compsognathus?”)

I could probably come up with a tenth book, but it would be pretty cool if I actually completed a goal list for once.  We’ll see how that goes.

What’s on your summer reading wish-list?

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Summer TBR

    • That’s good to hear! I got it at a book-swap party last Christmas and I feel bad that I haven’t gotten to it yet.

  1. I don’t have any actual vacations planned, but that’s not going to stop me from continuing to get my read on this summer. I’d like to finally read Tamora Pierce’s third Beka Cooper book, Mastiff, which prrrobably means going back and reading the first two because it’s been a while. I might also dig into The Once and Future King, finally. Other than that, I’ve been kind of disappointed with the last few promising books I started, so I might hunt around for a beloved classic YA series that passed me by. I never did read those Philip Pullman books…

    • Man I need to read some Tamora Pierce someday. I would be very curious to hear what you think of His Dark Materials if you ever get to it.

  2. I LOVE Nancy Drew, I was actually just talking about this yesterday and how I still remember, in great detail, The Secret of Shadow Ranch and The Hidden Staircase. I recommend both of those. I like both the Crichton books well enough, more than I thought I would at least!

    • I’m sure I read plenty of Nancy Drew, but I don’t remember any plotlines! I do remember not realizing for a long time that George was a girl. :-/

  3. I read Jurassic Park about ten years ago. If I recall, it was pretty good. Never moved on to The Lost World, though.

    As far as summer reading, honestly I’m planning to read Revenge Wears Prada at my earliest opportunity. I might even go get it from the library tonight!

    • I haven’t read them since…2000? I’m pretty excited about them. I remember “Lost World” being vastly different from the movie, so that could be fun.

      Haha, I didn’t even know there was a “Prada” sequel! I never read the first one, mostly because I’ve encountered enough rage-inducing terrible bosses in real life to make it difficult to enjoy reading about them. 😉

  4. I actually need to put down the “fun” summer reading to prep for a class in July, but there is so much to read. I’m working my way through the Octavia Butler I can get at my library, and just started a new YA series (can’t remember the author, but the first book was “Glow”). I want to read “Wool,” too.

Leave a Reply

