Top Ten Tuesday: Fall TBR

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week we will post a new Top Ten list that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join.

My reading speed has tanked over the last few weeks, partly because we got Carcassonne for the iPad and we’re spending our evenings trying to out-farm each other.  Still, I’m hoping to get through a few books this season:

1. “Shadow of the Wind” by Carlos Ruiz Zafon.  This will be a re-read so I can be prepared for…

2-3. “Angel’s Game” and “Prisoner of Heaven” by same.  I’m excited to read these all together and see how the stories connect.

4. “The Shadow Lines” by Amitav Ghosh. Another re-read, this time of a college-course book. (I currently have a thing for “shadow” books, apparently.)

6. “Fight Like A Girl.”  I chipped in to this anthology’s Kickstarter and I’m so excited to have my big beautiful paperback.

7. “Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell” by Susanna Clarke.  Ugh, this book.  I started it over the summer, but I slowed and stopped about a hundred pages in.  I would just quit on it except everyone I know who’s read it adores it.

8. “Shogun” by James Clavell.  After seven years together, Kevin has yet to read any Ray Bradbury (ANY) and I have yet to read his all-time favorite book.  Time to fix that!

What are you hoping to read this season?

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Fall TBR

  1. I too have a Kickstarter anthology to read–Mothership: Tales from Afrofuturism & Beyond. I’m really excited for it! I’m also planning on looking for Colman by Monica Furlong at the library, because I just reread Wise Child and was reminded of how much I like her writing. I’m probably going to save both of those for the Readathon, which is coming up next month…I might try to pick up a Halloweeny book too, to get into the spirit of things!

    • I could so easily (and happily) go broke funding Kickstarter anthologies. I’ve only gotten the one, but Mothership is the third or fourth that sounds really awesome! I admit I had to look up Afrofuturism (and once again face the fact that I’ve never read any Octavia Butler) but it sounds interesting!

      Alas, we have family in town during the upcoming Readathon. 😦 But with my wrists out of commission (Kevin has already scolded me for replying to these comments), I have been doing a lot more reading, so that’s good!

Leave a Reply

