Top Ten Tuesday: Best Of 2013

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week we will post a new Top Ten list that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join.

I read 32 books this year!  Most of them were pretty good.  A couple were dumb.  Several were out of my comfort zone and others were just plain boring.

That said, here are the gems:

1. “The Second Duchess” by Elizabeth Loupas. I was expecting a standard historical fiction novel, but this turned out to be an enthralling murder mystery with a dash of the supernatural.

2. “The Tiger’s Wife” by Tea Obreht. This was just a straight-up beautiful book.

3. “The Book of Fires” by Jane Borodale. Another beautiful book, this one a little harder to stomach. I had never read any historical fiction set in late 18th century England, so that in particular was very interesting to me.

4. “The Time In Between” by Maria Duenas. I love me my WWII historical fiction, but this was a viewpoint I had never really read about: the perspective of a Spanish woman in Morocco.

5. “The Power of Habit” by Charles Duhigg. I haven’t read a lot of nonfiction, nor a lot of self-help, but I found this one really approachable and helpful.

6. “Mistborn” by Brandon Sanderson. This wasn’t quite such a trope-buster as I had been led to believe, but I still enjoyed the unique system of magic.

7. Johnny Wander. I love these comics, even if they make me want to drop everything and move with four friends into a tiny cruddy urban apartment.

8. “Midnight in the Garden of Good & Evil” by John Berendt. I guess this one counts as nonfiction? It had a crazy cast of characters and a fun blend of murder mystery and travelogue.

9. Saga by Brian K. Vaughan.  I’m not totally head over heels for Saga, but I do love its themes and the incredible blend of fantasy and science fiction that it’s cooked up.

10.  The Pioneer Woman cookbooks.  Do cookbooks count? Because I am really loving these books so far.  The recipes are uncomplicated and they use everyday ingredients, plus they have step-by-step photos.  Why cookbooks don’t have photos sometimes is beyond me.  Plus they’re sprinkled with anecdotes about ranch life and her personal history.

What were your favorite reads of 2013?

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Best Of 2013

  1. This is the first year I’ve kept track in a LONG time, and my final count (given that I’m not going to finish Insurgent tonight) is 110-ish. I got distracted in September and forgot to write things down, and I know I missed a few others.

    I discovered Sharon Shinn, Cory Doctorow (got to hear him speak at our local bookstore), Octavia Butler, and some really really really bad (so bad they were fun) 1970s Star Trek novels. And none of your books were on my list, so I’m going to add the fantasy ones to what I hope to look into in 2014. I’ll probably finish the Veronica Roth trilogy first, though.

    Oh, and because I know you asked before and I didn’t have it on hand — Troubled Waters, and Fortune and Fate were the two Sharon Shinn books I managed to find at the library. I love her writing.

    I always love your book posts, as I find new things to look into. Happy New Year!

    • Wow, 110? Nice job! If I didn’t have Goodreads I would totally lose track of what I’ve read. 🙂 I didn’t manage to read any Octavia Butler yet but I hope to this year. Glad you enjoyed Sharon Shinn! I’ve only read her Archangel books so I’ll keep an eye out for the ones you mentioned!

Leave a Reply

