Top Ten Tuesday: Spring 2014 TBR

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week we will post a new Top Ten list that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join.

These are things I hope to read this spring. Let’s aim for five books because – well, see my previous TTT posts or my Goodreads TBR list for an indication of how awesome I am at following through on these.

1. “Blue Like Jazz” by Donald Miller.  I am so late to this party. I think I got this from someone who was handing out copies on campus, which means I’ve had it on my shelf for at least five years.

2. “Jesus Feminist” by Sarah Bessey. When I was first tipped off to the Faith & Culture Writers Conference, I was not exactly thrilled about going – until I saw that book title associated with Bessey, one of the speakers.  There are enough people who consider themselves Christ-followers and feminists that there’s a book for them? A book that people have read? And the author is invited to speak at a conference? Yusss.

3. Wonder Woman books.  I have a list of graphic novels to check out so I can finally experience Wonder Woman beyond the Justice League cartoon.

4. “The Elegant Universe” by Brian Greene. At least until my head explodes.

5. “Neuromancer” by William Gibson. I read “Snow Crash” by Neal Stephenson recently. It was my first foray into cyberpunk, and now the part of my brain that’s a rabid but deprived science-fiction fan is rocking back and forth whispering “more, preciousss.

Yes, that seems doable. Let’s just ignore that I’ve been meaning to read “Blue Like Jazz” for about half a decade, shall we?

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Spring 2014 TBR

  1. Consider adding Stephenson’s The Diamond Age to your list down the line, as it’s really got something for everyone. And it’s one of my favorites.

    I’ve never ready Neuromancer. Not sure I have a list for this spring, but it’s kind of a good idea. Hmmm. I read all the stuff on my little “pending” shelf, and maybe I need some guidance at the library going forward.

  2. You went to Faith & Culture? SO JEALOUS!! I didn’t even find out about it until a month or so before. I almost registered for Festival of Faith & Writing this year before deciding I couldn’t afford it, but I think Faith & Culture would be an even better fit.

    • It was actually the first writing conference of its kind that I had heard of, but I’m really glad I got to go! (It helped that it was within driving distance!) The panels that I attended had great speakers who gave good, practical information. I’m hoping I’ll get to go again someday!

Leave a Reply

