Award Redux

Emgee’s a new blogger, so he re-nominated me for last week’s award. Joke’s on him, because I will never not do a survey.

Which do you think would win in a fight: a Siberian Tiger, or a Silverback Gorilla?
Hmm. I think it would be a long battle, but I have to give the edge to the animal with claws.

If you could have the power of Telepathy, Telekinesis, or Teleportation, which would you choose?
Teleportation would be a lot of fun, but today I’m feeling more like telekinesis. I imagine my tendonitis would go away a lot faster if I could prepare dinner with my mind.

Who are your favorite and least favorite Star Wars characters? Briefly, why?
I don’t even know what to say to this anymore, considering how after this past week, hundreds of character suddenly ceased to exist.

Okay, well, most favorite: Obi-Wan. Does it need an explanation?

Least favorite: there are a few. I’m irritated that Ahsoka is now canon and the Solo twins aren’t. Jar Jar is a waste of CGI, but I’ve come to a place where I can just watch the final act of that movie and be happy. Anakin in the Clone Wars is vastly different from Anakin in the movies, so that’s probably my biggest gripe character-wise.

If I had twenty dollars for the two of us to get a meal anywhere you’ve been before, where would we eat?
Does Salt & Straw count, because you could do a lot of damage there with $20. Otherwise, Cha Ba Thai!

If you were offered immortality, would you accept it?
Only if it came with other superpowers or gadgets so I could become a Time Lord-ish superhero. Otherwise, no – I wouldn’t want to continually lose friends and family, not to mention the world I’m familiar with, and never mind the Christianity-related ramifications of never dying.  Which raises the question, can I still die? Can I be killed, or will I just never die of natural causes? Will I also cease aging? These are important details.

If you had a time machine that could only travel forward in time, would you use it? If so, how far would you go, and who would you take with you? (Up to three others; you can pick up people along the way if you like.)
Probably not. I might see some amazing things meet some cool new people, but it would be a lot like Captain America waking up 70 years in the future – almost everyone I know will be dead, I’ll have no idea what’s going on in terms of international politics, technology will have vastly changed, and every pop-culture reference I know will be immediately irrelevant.

What would you consider the most interesting thing you have ever learned?
I’ve always been fascinated by geography, geologic features, place names, and the sometimes arbitrary way that borders are drawn and changed. I love that fossils of the same creatures have been found on continents that are now separated by an ocean. And I love how history influences the places we’re familiar with today. Getting to visit Bath and seeing how the modern city was literally built 20 feet over the ancient Roman ruins was fascinating. There was a whole vanished world underneath the bustling city which was, compared to the United States, already pretty old. It’s not really a “thing” I’ve learned, but it’s a knowledge field that continues to interest me.

If you could have a telephone conversation with anyone who has ever existed, who would you call?
Is it weird to say Jesus? I feel like that conversation would solve a lot of problems.

Have you ever been camping? Where is your favorite place to camp/be outdoors at night?
Bleck. I’ve been camping, yes – in Yosemite, in March. There was a thunderstorm that night and then it snowed. I’ve been assured that camping is fun, but the idea of being away from a bathroom, shower, and real food, on purpose, for an extended period of time, does not appeal to me.

However, being away from light pollution on a starry night is one of the best feelings in the world. I especially love being at the beach, where you can just barely see the waves breaking.

If you had to fight a horse-sized duck or ten duck-sized horses, which would you choose?
Probably the duck-sized horses. Easy to kick. Actual horses are big, yo. Plus imagine the size of the beak on a horse-sized duck – pretty sure I’d get crushed.

Leave a Reply

