Top Ten Tuesday: In My Beach Bag

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week we will post a new Top Ten list that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join.

My ideal summer vacation needs to include a lot of time for lying around somewhere warm, reading. These are the books I’m hoping to get through:

1. “The Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Pie Society” by Mary Ann Shaffer. Some people have their Jane Austen; some people have Nora Roberts; some people have crime thrillers. My go-to beach book is this one, always and forever.

2. “Mission to Paris” by Alan Furst. Reading these books is like living inside “Casablanca” for a little bit. I haven’t read this one yet, but I’ll probably try to re-read my favorite (#3), “The Foreign Correspondent,” too.

4. “Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand” by Helen Simonson. This summer, I promise, I swear, I’m finally going to read this.

5. “The Namesake” by Jhumpa Lahiri. I haven’t read this since college. It’s time!

6. “Redshirts” by John Scalzi. It’s about time I read some pace that, and this one has been waiting patiently on my shelf.

7. “The Red Tent” by Anita Diamant. This book is nearly 20 years old and it’s been on my radar for about half that time, but I finally purchased it a couple months ago and I’m looking forward to reading it.

8. “The Other Boleyn Girl” by Philippa Gregory. Judge away – this is my one of my favorite historical fiction books.

9. “Little Century” by Anna Keesey. It’s a little dark for beach reading, but then the Oregon coast in summer is often dark itself. It has an impressive heroine and a sweet ending, and everyone knows the happy ending is most important criterion of beach reading.

10. “Neuromancer” by William Gibson. I finally read my first cyberpunk this year (“Snow Crash“) and now I’m interested in reading the book that started it all.

Bonus: whenever enough of my friends go somewhere together, we take an hour or so to do a dramatic reading of a romance novel. Whatever book that is, it’s my favorite summer read.

 

Leave a Reply

