Ghazal: Light

To my monochrome life you radiate new light.
First stumbling, now flying, we dance into light.

I’ll stay, sheet-warmed, beside you, our bed an isle,
our room our soft seclusion of peace-hued light.

I’ll crumble looming mountains to ease your path,
rip curtains off muted stars to lend you light.

We rolled our dice, fingers crossed for perfection.
Tired of waiting, we claimed our overdue light.

Now, pen-clasping, I record my promises
to dance on hand-in-hand through darkness, through light.

(I rarely do poems for yeahwrite but the ghazal was too tempting.)

13 thoughts on “Ghazal: Light

  1. Beautiful:
    “I’ll crumble looming mountains to ease your path,
    rip curtains off muted stars to lend you light.”

    I’d love to spent an hour or two in your mind! This was really powerful.

    • Aw shucks, Nate! The sample ghazals were really helpful, especially “Hip Hop Ghazal.” Having a longer repeated phrase makes it much tricker to rhyme, I think – using just one word repeated made it somewhat easier.

  2. Pingback: yeah write #239 challenge winners

Leave a comment